PDA

View Full Version : Flesch–Kincaid Grade Level 2



ReadingInLevels
05-10-2015, 01:46 PM
Flesch–Kincaid Grade Level 2



1.
The Outdoor Girls in Florida (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/62/the-outdoor-girls-in-florida/)

by Laura Lee Hope (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/authors/117/laura-lee-hope/)
The Outdoor Girls in Florida is a story of adventure following a group of girls (Amy, Mollie, Betty, and Grace) on a journey to help their friend Will.



2.
Bed in Summer (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/59/a-childs-garden-of-verses-selected-poems/4710/bed-in-summer/)
A Child's Garden of Verses: Selected Poems (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/59/a-childs-garden-of-verses-selected-poems/)
by Robert Louis Stevenson (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/authors/96/robert-louis-stevenson/)
This poem expresses the problem many people have with getting up when it is dark in the morning and going to bed in the evening when it is still light outside.



3.
Foreign Lands (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/59/a-childs-garden-of-verses-selected-poems/4716/foreign-lands/)
A Child's Garden of Verses: Selected Poems (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/59/a-childs-garden-of-verses-selected-poems/)
by Robert Louis Stevenson (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/authors/96/robert-louis-stevenson/)
A child climbs into a tree and imagines seeing other places.



4.
Five Little Chickadees (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/66/counting-and-math-rhymes/4766/five-little-chickadees/)
Counting and Math Rhymes (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/66/counting-and-math-rhymes/)
by Traditional (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/authors/195/traditional/)
A children’s subtraction poem about chickadees.



5.
“The Hare and the Hedgehog” (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/68/fairy-tales-and-other-traditional-stories/5088/the-hare-and-the-hedgehog/)
Fairy Tales and Other Traditional Stories (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/68/fairy-tales-and-other-traditional-stories/)
by Grimm Brothers (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/authors/189/grimm-brothers/)
Written as a play, this is a story about neighbors who do not get along. The hedgehog challenges the hare to a contest. The contest is used to settle the differences between the neighbors. However, is the means fair?



6.
“The Wise Men of Gotham” (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/68/fairy-tales-and-other-traditional-stories/5110/the-wise-men-of-gotham/)
Fairy Tales and Other Traditional Stories (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/68/fairy-tales-and-other-traditional-stories/)
by FCIT (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/authors/194/fcit/)
Twelve fishermen think one of them has drowned. When they count to see if everyone is there they always count eleven.



7.
Cushy Cow Bonny (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/74/nursery-rhymes-and-traditional-poems/5067/cushy-cow-bonny/)
Nursery Rhymes and Traditional Poems (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/74/nursery-rhymes-and-traditional-poems/)
by Traditional (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/authors/195/traditional/)
A nursery rhyme (from Mother Goose) originating from a milkmaid chant used to charm her cow to give milk.



8.
Here Sits the Lord Mayor (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/74/nursery-rhymes-and-traditional-poems/5086/here-sits-the-lord-mayor/)
Nursery Rhymes and Traditional Poems (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/74/nursery-rhymes-and-traditional-poems/)
by Traditional (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/authors/195/traditional/)
A fun nursery rhyme/riddle.



9.
“The Story of a Fierce Bad Rabbit” (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/148/peter-rabbit-and-other-stories/4889/the-story-of-a-fierce-bad-rabbit/)
Peter Rabbit and Other Stories (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/148/peter-rabbit-and-other-stories/)
by Beatrix Potter (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/authors/70/beatrix-potter/)
The story of a good rabbit and a very naughty bad one.



10.
“The Brown Thrush” (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/109/selected-american-and-british-poems/5220/the-brown-thrush/)
Selected American and British Poems (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/109/selected-american-and-british-poems/)
by Lucy Larcom (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/authors/33/lucy-larcom/)
A rhyme that serves to tell children to behave through the song of a bird.



11.
“The City Mouse and the Garden Mouse” (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/109/selected-american-and-british-poems/5223/the-city-mouse-and-the-garden-mouse/)
Selected American and British Poems (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/109/selected-american-and-british-poems/)
by Christina Rossetti (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/authors/77/christina-rossetti/)
A nursery rhyme about the differences between the city mouse and the garden mouse and how each is happy in his own manner.



12.
Whirly-Whicker-Whaker (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/74/nursery-rhymes-and-traditional-poems/5382/whirly-whicker-whaker/)
Nursery Rhymes and Traditional Poems (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/74/nursery-rhymes-and-traditional-poems/)
by Traditional (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/authors/195/traditional/)
A rhyme about a farmer who chases a hog out of his fodder field.



13.
“The Sailor Man” (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/68/fairy-tales-and-other-traditional-stories/5101/the-sailor-man/)
Fairy Tales and Other Traditional Stories (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/68/fairy-tales-and-other-traditional-stories/)
by Laura Richards (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/authors/73/laura-richards/)
A folk tale that teaches children not to daydream, but work for their reward.



14.
Maid Mary (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/74/nursery-rhymes-and-traditional-poems/5276/maid-mary/)
Nursery Rhymes and Traditional Poems (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/74/nursery-rhymes-and-traditional-poems/)
by Traditional (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/authors/195/traditional/)
A humorous poem about the daily routine of a farmer and his maid.



15.
Ride a Cock Horse To Banbury Cross (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/74/nursery-rhymes-and-traditional-poems/5340/ride-a-cock-horse-to-banbury-cross/)
Nursery Rhymes and Traditional Poems (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/74/nursery-rhymes-and-traditional-poems/)
by Traditional (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/authors/195/traditional/)
A poem about symbolic fertility.



16.
Snow Bound - A Winter Idyl (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/109/selected-american-and-british-poems/5427/snow-bound-a-winter-idyl/)
Selected American and British Poems (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/109/selected-american-and-british-poems/)
by John Greenleaf Whittier (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/authors/136/john-greenleaf-whittier/)
As a way to pass the time during a raging snowstorm, family members exchanges stories by the fireside.



17.
The Unseen Playmate (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/59/a-childs-garden-of-verses-selected-poems/4757/the-unseen-playmate/)
A Child's Garden of Verses: Selected Poems (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/59/a-childs-garden-of-verses-selected-poems/)
by Robert Louis Stevenson (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/authors/96/robert-louis-stevenson/)
An invisible friend plays with toys.



18.
As I Was Going to St. Ives (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/66/counting-and-math-rhymes/3202/as-i-was-going-to-st-ives/)
Counting and Math Rhymes (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/66/counting-and-math-rhymes/)
by Traditional (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/authors/195/traditional/)
A child’s riddle involving multiplication and logic.



19.
“The Cat and the Mouse” (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/68/fairy-tales-and-other-traditional-stories/4864/the-cat-and-the-mouse/)
Fairy Tales and Other Traditional Stories (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/68/fairy-tales-and-other-traditional-stories/)
by Joseph Jacobs (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/authors/112/joseph-jacobs/)
A cat bites the tail off of the mouse. The mouse is led on a merry chase attempting to bring back cream for the cat who will then return the mouse’s tail.



20.
Dance Little Baby (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/74/nursery-rhymes-and-traditional-poems/5068/dance-little-baby/)
Nursery Rhymes and Traditional Poems (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/74/nursery-rhymes-and-traditional-poems/)
by Traditional (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/authors/195/traditional/)
A nursery rhyme that mimics a lullaby.



21.
Little Cock-Sparrow (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/74/nursery-rhymes-and-traditional-poems/5215/little-cock-sparrow/)
Nursery Rhymes and Traditional Poems (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/74/nursery-rhymes-and-traditional-poems/)
by Traditional (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/authors/195/traditional/)
A poem about a boy hunting a cock-sparrow.



22.
Mary, Mary, Quite Contrary (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/74/nursery-rhymes-and-traditional-poems/5284/mary-mary-quite-contrary/)
Nursery Rhymes and Traditional Poems (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/74/nursery-rhymes-and-traditional-poems/)
by Traditional (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/authors/195/traditional/)
A nursery rhyme about Mary and her garden.



23.
Pat a Cake (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/74/nursery-rhymes-and-traditional-poems/5315/pat-a-cake/)
Nursery Rhymes and Traditional Poems (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/74/nursery-rhymes-and-traditional-poems/)
by Traditional (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/authors/195/traditional/)
A nursery rhyme about baking a cake.



24.
Red Herrings (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/74/nursery-rhymes-and-traditional-poems/5338/red-herrings/)
Nursery Rhymes and Traditional Poems (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/74/nursery-rhymes-and-traditional-poems/)
by Traditional (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/authors/195/traditional/)
A fun nonsensical poem.



25.
We’re All in the Dumps (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/74/nursery-rhymes-and-traditional-poems/5369/were-all-in-the-dumps/)
Nursery Rhymes and Traditional Poems (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/74/nursery-rhymes-and-traditional-poems/)
by Traditional (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/authors/195/traditional/)
A traditional nonsense verse that is often sung.



26.
“There Was a Young Lady” (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/111/poems-and-limericks-of-edward-lear/4860/there-was-a-young-lady/)
Poems and Limericks of Edward Lear (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/111/poems-and-limericks-of-edward-lear/)
by Edward Lear (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/authors/36/edward-lear/)
A limerick about a girl playing harp with her pointy chin.



27.
Auntie’s Skirts (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/59/a-childs-garden-of-verses-selected-poems/4708/aunties-skirts/)
A Child's Garden of Verses: Selected Poems (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/59/a-childs-garden-of-verses-selected-poems/)
by Robert Louis Stevenson (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/authors/96/robert-louis-stevenson/)
The poet focuses on his Aunt’s skirts.



28.
The Land of Nod (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/59/a-childs-garden-of-verses-selected-poems/4723/the-land-of-nod/)
A Child's Garden of Verses: Selected Poems (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/59/a-childs-garden-of-verses-selected-poems/)
by Robert Louis Stevenson (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/authors/96/robert-louis-stevenson/)
The poet ruminates on dreaming, where he can be on his own and explore all the strange things he sees, even though he forgets it all come morning.



29.
The Land of Story-Books (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/59/a-childs-garden-of-verses-selected-poems/4724/the-land-of-story-books/)
A Child's Garden of Verses: Selected Poems (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/59/a-childs-garden-of-verses-selected-poems/)
by Robert Louis Stevenson (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/authors/96/robert-louis-stevenson/)
A child plays hunter before bed time.



30.
Winter-Time (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/59/a-childs-garden-of-verses-selected-poems/4763/winter-time/)
A Child's Garden of Verses: Selected Poems (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/59/a-childs-garden-of-verses-selected-poems/)
by Robert Louis Stevenson (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/authors/96/robert-louis-stevenson/)
A child talks about his life in winter.



31.
Elephants at Work and Play (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/66/counting-and-math-rhymes/4752/elephants-at-work-and-play/)
Counting and Math Rhymes (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/66/counting-and-math-rhymes/)
by Traditional (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/authors/195/traditional/)
A children’s counting poem about elephants.



32.
Fountain of Youth (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/70/florida-essays-and-poems/4599/fountain-of-youth/)
Florida: Essays and Poems (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/70/florida-essays-and-poems/)
by Oliver Wendell Holmes, Sr. (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/authors/120/oliver-wendell-holmes-sr/)
The author describes the pursuit of the mythical Fountain of Youth.



33.
Yellow Jessamine (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/70/florida-essays-and-poems/4673/yellow-jessamine/)
Florida: Essays and Poems (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/70/florida-essays-and-poems/)
by Constance Fenimore Woolson (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/authors/141/constance-fenimore-woolson/)
The author describes a much revered flower that decorates the landscape of Florida.



34.
“The Tricky Wolf and the Rats” (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/73/more-jataka-tales/4979/the-tricky-wolf-and-the-rats/)
More Jataka Tales (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/73/more-jataka-tales/)
by Ellen C. Babbitt (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/authors/197/ellen-c-babbitt/)
A wolf eats rats, but then the Chief of Rats finds out and bites his neck, killing him, so that the rest of the rats live in peace.



35.
I Am a Gold Lock (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/74/nursery-rhymes-and-traditional-poems/5185/i-am-a-gold-lock/)
Nursery Rhymes and Traditional Poems (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/74/nursery-rhymes-and-traditional-poems/)
by Traditional (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/authors/195/traditional/)
A nursery rhyme that acts a a fun catch.



36.
The Old Woman of Leeds (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/74/nursery-rhymes-and-traditional-poems/5313/the-old-woman-of-leeds/)
Nursery Rhymes and Traditional Poems (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/74/nursery-rhymes-and-traditional-poems/)
by Traditional (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/authors/195/traditional/)
A nursery rhyme about a pious old woman performing good works.



37.
“There Was an Old Person of Dean” (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/111/poems-and-limericks-of-edward-lear/4868/there-was-an-old-person-of-dean/)
Poems and Limericks of Edward Lear (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/111/poems-and-limericks-of-edward-lear/)
by Edward Lear (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/authors/36/edward-lear/)
A fun limerick about a man very cautious about his weight.



38.
A Valentine (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/147/the-works-of-edgar-allan-poe/5254/a-valentine/)
The Works of Edgar Allan Poe (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/147/the-works-of-edgar-allan-poe/)
by Edgar Allan Poe (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/authors/68/edgar-allan-poe/)
"For her this rhyme is penned, whose luminous eyes,"



39.
To F-- (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/147/the-works-of-edgar-allan-poe/5305/to-f-/)
The Works of Edgar Allan Poe (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/147/the-works-of-edgar-allan-poe/)
by Edgar Allan Poe (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/authors/68/edgar-allan-poe/)
"Beloved! amid the earnest woes"



40.
“The Wise Goat and the Wolf” (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/73/more-jataka-tales/4980/the-wise-goat-and-the-wolf/)
More Jataka Tales (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/73/more-jataka-tales/)
by Ellen C. Babbitt (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/authors/197/ellen-c-babbitt/)
A goat outwits two wolves.



41.
"To Maecenas." (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/206/poems-on-various-subjects-religious-and-moral/4866/to-maecenas/)
Poems on Various Subjects, Religious and Moral (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/206/poems-on-various-subjects-religious-and-moral/)
by Phillis Wheatley (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/authors/134/phillis-wheatley/)
MAECENAS, you, beneath the myrtle shade,