PDA

View Full Version : Flesch–Kincaid Grade Level 1



ReadingInLevels
05-10-2015, 01:52 PM
Flesch–Kincaid Grade Level 1









“A Fall Song” (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/165/buttercup-gold-and-other-stories/2923/a-fall-song/)

Buttercup Gold and Other Stories (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/165/buttercup-gold-and-other-stories/)

by Ellen Robena Field (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/authors/175/ellen-robena-field/)

A poem describing “The Fall of the Year” or Autumn.








Where Go the Boats? (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/59/a-childs-garden-of-verses-selected-poems/4758/where-go-the-boats/)

A Child's Garden of Verses: Selected Poems (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/59/a-childs-garden-of-verses-selected-poems/)

by Robert Louis Stevenson (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/authors/96/robert-louis-stevenson/)

A poem which describes the river, sand, foam, and path of a river carrying a child’s boats down stream.








The Whole Duty of Children (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/59/a-childs-garden-of-verses-selected-poems/4759/the-whole-duty-of-children/)

A Child's Garden of Verses: Selected Poems (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/59/a-childs-garden-of-verses-selected-poems/)

by Robert Louis Stevenson (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/authors/96/robert-louis-stevenson/)

Children should behave.








The Wind (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/59/a-childs-garden-of-verses-selected-poems/4761/the-wind/)

A Child's Garden of Verses: Selected Poems (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/59/a-childs-garden-of-verses-selected-poems/)

by Robert Louis Stevenson (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/authors/96/robert-louis-stevenson/)

The poet wonders about the wind.








A Counting Out Rhyme (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/66/counting-and-math-rhymes/4731/a-counting-out-rhyme/)

Counting and Math Rhymes (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/66/counting-and-math-rhymes/)

by Traditional (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/authors/195/traditional/)

A child’s counting nursery rhyme.








Five Little Piggies (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/66/counting-and-math-rhymes/4772/five-little-piggies/)

Counting and Math Rhymes (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/66/counting-and-math-rhymes/)

by Traditional (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/authors/195/traditional/)

A child’s counting rhyme.








One, Two, Buckle My Shoe (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/66/counting-and-math-rhymes/4812/one-two-buckle-my-shoe/)

Counting and Math Rhymes (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/66/counting-and-math-rhymes/)

by Traditional (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/authors/195/traditional/)

A child’s counting game.








Ten Little Indians (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/66/counting-and-math-rhymes/4985/ten-little-indians/)

Counting and Math Rhymes (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/66/counting-and-math-rhymes/)

by Traditional (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/authors/195/traditional/)

A counting rhyme about indians.








This Little Piggy (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/66/counting-and-math-rhymes/4988/this-little-piggy/)

Counting and Math Rhymes (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/66/counting-and-math-rhymes/)

by Traditional (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/authors/195/traditional/)

A children’s poem usually counted on toes.








This Pig Went to Market (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/66/counting-and-math-rhymes/4990/this-pig-went-to-market/)

Counting and Math Rhymes (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/66/counting-and-math-rhymes/)

by Traditional (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/authors/195/traditional/)

A nursery rhyme about pigs.








“Fire! Fire! Burn Stick!” (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/68/fairy-tales-and-other-traditional-stories/5083/fire-fire-burn-stick/)

Fairy Tales and Other Traditional Stories (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/68/fairy-tales-and-other-traditional-stories/)

by Joseph Jacobs (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/authors/112/joseph-jacobs/)

An old lady buys a pig. Then she cannot get the pig to jump over a fence so she can get home. She asks for help but is refused until at last she finds a cow who will give her milk. This begins chain of events which leads to getting home with the pig.








The Cat and the Fiddle (Hey Diddle Diddle) (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/74/nursery-rhymes-and-traditional-poems/5062/the-cat-and-the-fiddle-hey-diddle-diddle/)

Nursery Rhymes and Traditional Poems (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/74/nursery-rhymes-and-traditional-poems/)

by Traditional (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/authors/195/traditional/)

Children’s nursery rhyme about a cat, fiddle, cow, moon, dog, dish, and spoon.








Humpty Dumpty (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/74/nursery-rhymes-and-traditional-poems/5181/humpty-dumpty/)

Nursery Rhymes and Traditional Poems (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/74/nursery-rhymes-and-traditional-poems/)

by Traditional (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/authors/195/traditional/)

Humpty Dumpty falls, breaks, and can’t be put back together.








Little Miss Muffet (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/74/nursery-rhymes-and-traditional-poems/5268/little-miss-muffet/)

Nursery Rhymes and Traditional Poems (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/74/nursery-rhymes-and-traditional-poems/)

by Traditional (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/authors/195/traditional/)

Children’s nursery rhyme about a little girl and a spider.








Old King Cole (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/74/nursery-rhymes-and-traditional-poems/5304/old-king-cole/)

Nursery Rhymes and Traditional Poems (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/74/nursery-rhymes-and-traditional-poems/)

by Traditional (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/authors/195/traditional/)

This merry king called for his pipe, fiddlers, and bowl.








Peter Piper (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/74/nursery-rhymes-and-traditional-poems/5328/peter-piper/)

Nursery Rhymes and Traditional Poems (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/74/nursery-rhymes-and-traditional-poems/)

by Traditional (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/authors/195/traditional/)

Peter Piper picked pickled peppers








Sing a Song of Sixpence (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/74/nursery-rhymes-and-traditional-poems/5350/sing-a-song-of-sixpence/)

Nursery Rhymes and Traditional Poems (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/74/nursery-rhymes-and-traditional-poems/)

by Traditional (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/authors/195/traditional/)

The blackbirds that were supposed to be baked in a pie for the king began to sing when the pie was opened. They then flew down to snap off the maid’s nose.








When the Bees All Homeward Fly (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/74/nursery-rhymes-and-traditional-poems/5378/when-the-bees-all-homeward-fly/)

Nursery Rhymes and Traditional Poems (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/74/nursery-rhymes-and-traditional-poems/)

by Richard Le Gallienne (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/authors/35/richard-le-gallienne/)

A poem about logicical natural progression.








“There Is a Young Lady Whose Nose” (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/111/poems-and-limericks-of-edward-lear/4862/there-is-a-young-lady-whose-nose/)

Poems and Limericks of Edward Lear (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/111/poems-and-limericks-of-edward-lear/)

by Edward Lear (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/authors/36/edward-lear/)

A funny poem about a woman with an extremely big nose.








“You Are Old, Father William” (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/112/poems-puzzles-and-stories-of-lewis-carroll/4955/you-are-old-father-william/)

Poems, Puzzles, and Stories of Lewis Carroll (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/112/poems-puzzles-and-stories-of-lewis-carroll/)

by Lewis Carroll (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/authors/1/lewis-carroll/)

A poem about a son inquiring about his father’s amazing and peculiar habits for a man of his advanced age.








To -- (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/147/the-works-of-edgar-allan-poe/5265/to-/)

The Works of Edgar Allan Poe (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/147/the-works-of-edgar-allan-poe/)

by Edgar Allan Poe (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/authors/68/edgar-allan-poe/)

"The bowers whereat, in dreams, I see"








For Annie (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/147/the-works-of-edgar-allan-poe/5319/for-annie/)

The Works of Edgar Allan Poe (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/147/the-works-of-edgar-allan-poe/)

by Edgar Allan Poe (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/authors/68/edgar-allan-poe/)

"Thank Heaven! the crisis—"








Imitation (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/147/the-works-of-edgar-allan-poe/5347/imitation/)

The Works of Edgar Allan Poe (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/147/the-works-of-edgar-allan-poe/)

by Edgar Allan Poe (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/authors/68/edgar-allan-poe/)

"A dark unfathom'd tide, Of interminable pride—"








The Lake. To -- (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/147/the-works-of-edgar-allan-poe/5370/the-lake-to-/)

The Works of Edgar Allan Poe (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/147/the-works-of-edgar-allan-poe/)

by Edgar Allan Poe (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/authors/68/edgar-allan-poe/)

"In spring of youth it was my lot"








A Pæan (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/147/the-works-of-edgar-allan-poe/5375/a-paean/)

The Works of Edgar Allan Poe (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/147/the-works-of-edgar-allan-poe/)

by Edgar Allan Poe (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/authors/68/edgar-allan-poe/)

Lamentation for the loss of a loved one.








Escape at Bedtime (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/59/a-childs-garden-of-verses-selected-poems/4713/escape-at-bedtime/)

A Child's Garden of Verses: Selected Poems (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/59/a-childs-garden-of-verses-selected-poems/)

by Robert Louis Stevenson (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/authors/96/robert-louis-stevenson/)

A poem about enjoying looking at stars at night instead of going to bed. Caretakers finally catch the poet and put him to bed, but he can still remember the sights of the stars.








Fly Away (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/66/counting-and-math-rhymes/4784/fly-away/)

Counting and Math Rhymes (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/66/counting-and-math-rhymes/)

by Traditional (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/authors/195/traditional/)

A nursery rhyme involving subtraction








An Egg (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/74/nursery-rhymes-and-traditional-poems/5076/an-egg/)

Nursery Rhymes and Traditional Poems (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/74/nursery-rhymes-and-traditional-poems/)

by Traditional (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/authors/195/traditional/)

A fun riddle.








Intery, Mintery, Cutery Corn (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/74/nursery-rhymes-and-traditional-poems/5204/intery-mintery-cutery-corn/)

Nursery Rhymes and Traditional Poems (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/74/nursery-rhymes-and-traditional-poems/)

by Traditional (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/authors/195/traditional/)

A children’s counting limerick.








Israfel (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/147/the-works-of-edgar-allan-poe/5365/israfel/)

The Works of Edgar Allan Poe (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/147/the-works-of-edgar-allan-poe/)

by Edgar Allan Poe (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/authors/68/edgar-allan-poe/)

In Heaven a spirit doth dwell, "Whose heart-strings are a lute;"








The Surrender of Chief Joseph of the Nez Perce, Montana Territory, October 5, 1877 Chief Joseph's Own Story (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/185/civil-rights-and-conflict-in-the-united-states-selected-speeches/4856/the-surrender-of-chief-joseph-of-the-nez-perce-montana-territory-october-5-1877-chief-josephs-own-story/)

Civil Rights and Conflict in the United States: Selected Speeches (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/185/civil-rights-and-conflict-in-the-united-states-selected-speeches/)

by Chief Joseph of the Nez Perce (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/authors/154/chief-joseph-of-the-nez-perce/)

Chief Joseph of the Nez Perce surrenders to General Nelson A. Miles in October of 1877.








Doubles (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/66/counting-and-math-rhymes/4747/doubles/)

Counting and Math Rhymes (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/66/counting-and-math-rhymes/)

by Traditional (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/authors/195/traditional/)

A child’s counting rhyme about addition.








Little Man Will You Wed? (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/74/nursery-rhymes-and-traditional-poems/5263/little-man-will-you-wed/)

Nursery Rhymes and Traditional Poems (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/74/nursery-rhymes-and-traditional-poems/)

by Traditional (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/authors/195/traditional/)

A funny limerick about a man in love with a maid.








“If I Were a Sunbeam” (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/109/selected-american-and-british-poems/5228/if-i-were-a-sunbeam/)

Selected American and British Poems (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/109/selected-american-and-british-poems/)

by Lucy Larcom (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/authors/33/lucy-larcom/)

A fanciful poem exploring the mind of an adult lost in a land of fairy tales.








Meddlesome Matty (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/109/selected-american-and-british-poems/5393/meddlesome-matty/)

Selected American and British Poems (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/109/selected-american-and-british-poems/)

by Ann and Jane Taylor (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/authors/110/ann-and-jane-taylor/)

In this poem, Meddlesome Matilda learns her lesson after an unfortunate encounter with a snuff box.








To One in Paradise (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/147/the-works-of-edgar-allan-poe/5278/to-one-in-paradise/)

The Works of Edgar Allan Poe (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/147/the-works-of-edgar-allan-poe/)

by Edgar Allan Poe (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/authors/68/edgar-allan-poe/)

"Thou wast all that to me, love,"








“Love’s Garden” (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/165/buttercup-gold-and-other-stories/2928/loves-garden/)

Buttercup Gold and Other Stories (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/165/buttercup-gold-and-other-stories/)

by Ellen Robena Field (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/authors/175/ellen-robena-field/)

A poem about love that uses religious and nature themes.








Inly, Minly, Dibbity Fig (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/74/nursery-rhymes-and-traditional-poems/5202/inly-minly-dibbity-fig/)

Nursery Rhymes and Traditional Poems (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/74/nursery-rhymes-and-traditional-poems/)

by Traditional (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/authors/195/traditional/)

Counting-out Jingles, Silly children’s limerick.








“There Was an Old Man With a Beard” (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/111/poems-and-limericks-of-edward-lear/4865/there-was-an-old-man-with-a-beard/)

Poems and Limericks of Edward Lear (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/111/poems-and-limericks-of-edward-lear/)

by Edward Lear (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/authors/36/edward-lear/)

A funny poem about a man who has multiple bird nests in his beard.








The Star (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/109/selected-american-and-british-poems/5425/the-star/)

Selected American and British Poems (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/109/selected-american-and-british-poems/)

by Ann and Jane Taylor (http://etc.usf.edu/lit2go/authors/110/ann-and-jane-taylor/)

A nursery rhyme that imitates a lullaby about the evening star.